Return to Headlines

2017 District Chess Tournament

The District Chess Tournament was held March 30, 2017, at the Unity Center in Statesville, NC.  The district tournament is for students in grades 3-12.  The tournament consisted of 73 students and 14 schools represented at this year's competition. Mr. Jon Edge, a teacher at Brawley Middle School, organized this year's tournament and served as the district's Tournament Director.  This year, the district continued with the use of a Swiss Pairing format in the I-SS Chess Tournament.  This format allowed for students to have more opportunity to play during the tournament and a winner was determined through a points system. After several hours of intense gameplay, winners were able to recognize our Chess Champions for the district.  
Congratulations to the following winners in each division at the Iredell-Statesville Schools District 2017 Chess Tournament. 
Elementary Chess Winners  
Elementary Division: 
1st Place, PJ Liotino from Woodland Height Elementary School
2nd Place, Benson Huang from Lakeshore Elementary School
3rd Place, Ryder Reynolds from Lakeshore Elementary School
Honorable Mention, Dawson Botler from Coddle Creek Elementary School
Honorable Mention, Brady Tarbell from Woodland Heights Elementary School
Secondary Chess Winners  
Secondary Division (Middle/High): 
1st Place, Carson Cook from South Iredell High School
2nd Place, Rolando Dorbecker from South Iredell High School
3rd Place, Joseph Moore from South Iredell High School 
Honorable Mention, Lucas Varice, Troutman Middle School
Honorable Mention, Krishna Aara from Mount Mourne School