• Me and my husband Marshall, King Canyon National Park

    Welcome to My Classroom

    Natalie A. Kelly
    Email:  nkelly@iss.k12.nc.us


    Mission Statement
    I will treat my students with respect so they will know how to treat me. I will listen to my students and model being a problem solver, and help them to do the same. With hard work, listening and problem solving skills, we will have a successful school year as defined by the state (at least a 3 on the EOGs/EOCs).
     
    About Me
    Educational Background
    University of North Carolina-Greensboro: Bachelors of Arts in Mathematics, May 1987
    Appalachian State University: Masters of School Administration, May 2008
     
    Teaching Experience
    I have been an educator in public and private schools for 20 plus years. Fall 1987, I began my teaching career as a high school mathematics teacher at Mt. Tabor High School in Winston-Salem, NC. In 1990, my husband, Marshall, and I moved to Pocatello, Idaho where he attended graduate school at Idaho State University and I taught 9th grade math at Hawthorne Junior High. Upon graduating from ISU, Marshall and I moved to Raleigh, NC. Eventually, Marshall's job with North Carolina State Parks brought us to Statesville. While working for Iredell-Statesville Schools, I've been an 8th grade math teacher at West Iredell Middle, Instructional Facilitator at West Iredell Middle, Secondary Instructional Facilitator Coach/District Trainer and an assistant principal at Brawley Middle School, South Iredell High School, Statesville Middle School, N.B. Mills Elementary School and East Middle School. In July 2018, I decided to return to the classroom because I truly missed working with students in the classroom. I took off all the hats I wore as an assitant principal and moved to Troutman Middle School. I teach 8th Grade Math and Math 1 (formerly know as Algebra 1). I am excited about the possibilities and I am enjoying my time in the classroom.
     
    Personal Info
    I am the fifth child of seven. I was born in Abilene, TX and I grew up in Warner Robins and LaGrange, GA. I am the first female on my father and mother's side of the family to graduate from a University. My father is an Irish immigrant and my mother is a Canadian immigrant. Both of my parents were high school drop outs due to family financial situations. My mother worked in a potato factory and my father enlisted in the Army-Air Corp (later renamed US Air Force). About 10 years after dropping out of school, they met and then married. My mother was a creative and wonderful stay-at-home mom (she had 7 of us to raise) and my father was a pilot in US Air Force. He was assigned to the Strategic Air Command (SAC) as a B-52 pilot. He is a Vietnam War veteran. He was a Forward Air Controler, flew the O-1, was shotdown three times and return home to us after one tour. He retired in 1970 and started a new career  as a director of a Sheltered Workshop.
     
    My parents' expectation for me (and my 3 brothers and 3 sisters) was to always do our best, and dropping out of school was never an option. They just didn't expect almost all of us to go to college. Four of us have 4 year undergraduate degrees and continued to get our masters degree. The others have associates degree or earned license/certification.

    Growing up, I was always active in sports and was an average to above average student. Mathematics, Science and PE were always my favorite subjects. In high school, I focused on playing basketball and preparing for college. During basketball practice in my sophomore year in high school, I  injured my knee. To be active again and possibly continue to play basketball, my knee required major reconstructive surgery. I had the surgery and spent 6 months on crunches. I was unable to continue playing basketball. I was given riding a bicycle was part of my rehab after surgery. I began racing bicycles my senior year in high school and I continued to race while I was in college and then after I graduated. I earned spots on regional and national teams which afforded me the opportunities to participate in races across the US, in France and in Australia. I qualified for and competed in the Cycling Olympic Trials in the 1988, 1992, 1996 and 2000 Olympic Trials. Because I was a teacher with the summers off, I was able to work full-time and race almost full-time. My last year of racing bicycles was in 2000. I do miss racing but not the long hours of training. Racing bicycles provided me an opportunity to travel and meet lots of people from all around the world and bring back stories or ideas back to the classroom to help make math relevant for my students.
     
    Favorite Activities
    General outdoor activities: Hiking, Backpacking  
    Casual competitive sports: Open Water Swimming, and Cycling 
    Sewing, Quilting 

    Favorite Quote "Be the change you wish to see in the world." ~ Gandhi 

     
Last Modified on November 26, 2018